Well, I did it again, I thought that showing up with out a reservation would be no problem. It turns out that this ferry is quite a popular one and even though I got to the ferry terminal five hours early I was put on the wait list. Lucky for me, John the man with the clipboard put me up top of his list as he had seen my car there for so long and I got on!! I didn’t know what I was going to do if I didn’t get on as I already booked my B&B in Stonaway on the Isle of Harris. The agent that notified me of my wait list told me that tomorrow was even worse!

I was directed onto the ferry and when I boarded they held the car in front of me and the rest of us from going any further. They started lowering a shelf from the top of the ferry! It was a car shelf! It lowered about halfway and then one end angled down to form a ramp which enabled us to drive on. I was at a very steep angle heading up a two lane ramp with a car in front of me in a stick shift! Memories of my sister teaching me to drive a stick shift by having me stop on a steep gravel road at the family farm came screaming back to me. The big difference then was there were no other cars around. I was able to pull up rather close to the car in front of me no problem. The man loading the cars came up to my window, smiled and made the motion of move forward a bit. Was he kidding me? Did he know what he was working with here? I took my foot off the break, accelerated and scooted up perfectly to the car in front of me. He laughed as he walked past teasing me about testing my driving skills. He had no idea how lucky we all were! My skills prevail!

Once the car shelf was full they lifted us up so that we were level. I made sure my parking break was on and headed up to the lounge. I found a seat with a view and settled in for the two and a half hour ferry ride. Two years ago I was on a ferry in Greece and I swore I would never get on another ferry again. I had forgotten that pact until today. I guess this ferry route is known as one of the roughest in the world. I didn’t actually get sick but the color drained from my face and I was quite nauseous. I don’t think I was alone either, the guy sitting next to me kept taking deep breaths and sighing heavily. I surely felt his pain.

It was finally time to disembark and we were all directed to our cars. I got to my car and waited for the car shelf to lower. The shelf lowered the opposite way so that the nose of my car was angled down. I started my car and went to release my emergency break and it was stuck!! I was the second car in the lane. The guy kept motioning for me to drive forward. It quickly became obvious to him that I was in distress. It could have been the sickened look on my face or all the flailing about but he ran up and opened my passenger door and asked if my hand break was stuck. YES!!! He gave it a tug and it wouldn’t budge. I was getting very worried when he reached in with two hands and with quite a bit of effort was able to release it and send me on my way.

I had pulled directions to my B&B, they seemed simple. Turn left on North Street and….and all the street signs were in Gaelic. I hadn’t planned on this. I squinted as I drove past a sign and saw that below the large Gaelic writing was smaller English print. You should be aware that they do not have street signs like we do in the States. You will find them on a building at the intersection which is often times noticed far too late. I drove the wrong way for about five minutes but realized my error right away. I turned around and was headed the correct way but got severely lost. I took a guess at a road and actually ended up on the street that the B&B was located. That was divine intervention. I was still unable to find the place and about ready to turn on my 3G to the tune of too much money when a car pulled up beside me from the opposite direction. He asked if I was lost, I said yes, very and he said “Are you Sarah?” LOL. What? Yes, yes I am Sarah! He had been tracking the ferry and had been looking for me out of the window and had seen a car drive by several times very slowly so he thought it might be me. He came and found me and then had me follow him home. This house is amazing! Ian and his wife just built it within the last year and only lease out two bedrooms. My room is huge! I only paid for a single room but am laying in a large luxurious queen size bed! I have my own bathroom with a huge tub and shower and everything is so clean it looks as if it has never been used!

There is a television which I have on while I type and guess what…. a Steven Segal commercial came on for “The Transporter” coming up next! Ugh!!!

Oh, and I was informed when I arrived that they are expecting gael force winds up to 80 miles an hour tomorrow. I guess it is a hurricane coming from the U.S. They informed me that I picked a horrid time to come to the island and that they are probably going to close the ferries tomorrow. I hope that I can catch some sites and a ferry at the bottom of the Isle tomorrow or the following morning.

Always an adventure!

XOXO –

Sarah Jane

20110912-122356.jpg

20110912-122415.jpg

20110912-122435.jpg

20110912-122458.jpg

20110912-122517.jpg

20110912-122536.jpg

20110912-122557.jpg